Alimony Awards

Florida’s Alimony Laws and Types of Alimony Awarded

If you are considering divorce or are already in the process of getting divorced, you may be curious about how Florida law governs alimony. Florida law specifies the types of alimony a Court can award, and the factors that are evaluated by the Court when determining an award of alimony.

Types of Alimony


The purpose of bridge-the-gap alimony is to assist a party making the transition from being married to being single. Bridge-the-gap may only be awarded for up to 2 years, will terminate upon the death of either party or upon the remarriage of the party receiving alimony, and cannot be modified.


Rehabilitative alimony may be awarded to help a party in acquiring or redeveloping educational or work skills. To award this type of alimony, the Court must lay out a rehabilitation plan for the party receiving the award of alimony. Rehabilitative alimony may be modified if there is a substantial change in circumstances, or can be terminated if the plan is completed or not being complied with by the party.


Durational alimony provides alimony to a party for a set period of time. This alimony will terminate upon the death of either party or upon the remarriage of the party receiving alimony. The amount of money awarded with durational alimony may be modified later if there is a substantial change in circumstances.


Florida law allows permanent alimony to be awarded to a party who is not financially able to provide for his or her own needs as they were established during the marriage. The Court’s standard for determining permanent alimony is dependent on the duration of the marriage, and the Court can only order this type of alimony if no other type is “fair and reasonable under the facts of the case.”

Alimony Attorneys in Jacksonville, FL

If you have questions about Alimony awards, contact us now!

Comments are closed.